Kevin R. McCarthy for Jefferson County Commissioner

Kudos to Ted Poe

Republican Ted Poe has done something that I’ve never seen before, but I have been planning to do all along.

I got an email from his office asking me to give my opinion about something.  Apparently, the house is considering dropping Federal Taxes on gasoline for the summer months.  It would mean a $0.328 instant drop in gas prices.  On the other hand, $0.184 of that money (per gallon of gas) goes directly into the Federal Highway System.  You know, all that construction on I-10.

Here’s the link to the ballot.

Regardless of your opinion of Poe or his politics, this sets a fantastic precedent for Congressman Poe and other leaders.  In simple terms: Get the opinion of your constituents.

I plan on doing much the same thing as Jefferson County Commissioner.

May 1, 2008 Posted by | Jefferson County, Politics, Texas | 2 Comments